Hanover staff in our Chippenham office

Dr Stuart Burgess CBE

Chair of the Non-Executive Board of Anchor Hanover Group

Stuart was previously Chair of Hanover Housing Association and is an experienced chair and business leader with a dynamic track record in leading successful teams to improve organisational performance.

Previous to Hanover he was Chair of The Commission for Rural Communities from 2005 to 2013. From 2004 to 2010 he served as the Prime Minister's Rural Advocate and previously he was Chair of the Patient Liaison Group for the British Medical Association. He was President of the Methodist Church in 1999.

Stuart is a Lay Member of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and Chair of the Directors of The Wesley and the Methodist Church Property Development Committee. He is also Chair of the Ammersdown Centre and the Beeston Community Trust, and a Trustee of the Rose Castle Foundation and Rafiki Trust.

Stuart holds numerous degrees and honorary degrees and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. He was awarded a CBE in the Birthday Honours 2009 for services to the voluntary and public sectors.